the riyl revolution


hey mona lisa come home by dory t
June 23, 2008, 4:20 pm
Filed under: music, story | Tags: , , ,

I love music videos. Three minutes of life brightly colored, well-choreographed, sexy as hell and perfectly nonthreatening. Everyone is beautiful, everyone emotes at the right times and in the right places, and the music always matches the mood. It’s a fantasy that lasts just long enough for me to care, and ends just before I get bored with it. Hip hop music videos (especially high budget, mainstream hip hop videos) are the best. They’re always political disasters– girl power is being super hot and insinuating lesbian makeouts with your half-naked friends! I know there’s no excuse. And I know it’s wrong.

But I fucking love the Pussycat Dolls. And Kanye West. Like, a lot.

But what I think is the most interesting is that fact that sometimes, liking these bands is not embarassing, it’s actually super ironic and cool. Long since pioneered by artists like Soulwax/2 Many DJs and Girl Talk, mashups and remixes are the hippest fodder for an entire generation of self-conscious college students. It isn’t just Kanye West, it’s Diplo‘s REMIX of Kanye West! Which makes it cool! Which means I am still edgy! Because if I am not edgy, I am nothing. Obvs.

But sometimes the remix is hip for a reason. Sometimes it kicks the shit out of the song’s original. Sometimes the remix makes me feel good about wanting to be edgy. Sometimes the remix is like an entire fucking summer dreamworld where life really is a music video and Will.I.Am wants to date me and every word I say pops out around me like a huge delicious candy bubble, and I can dance, and I know everything, and I know everyone, and life wants to open up and eat me like a pill, and everything is glowing in the blacklight.

Sometimes a remix can do that. This one does.

Kanye West – Flashing Lights (Diplo remix)

x dory

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

wooo!

Comment by thebrandnew007




Leave a Reply

